Tasty Tortillas

When my husband and I lived in Texas, we both loved trying different Tex-Mex dishes. My favorites were enchiladas and tostadas. I made tacos pretty much weekly because they’re easy and quick. One afternoon, I realized I had everything but the tortillas. I figured I could see how involved homemade tortillas were to make and boy, was I very surprised how easy they were. I had all the ingredients at home and even on my first time making them, it only took a half hour. Plus, they were way better than store bought tortillas. Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t make them all the time but when I do, it’s so worth it.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

16-20

  • 3 cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp Baking powder
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • 1 tap Sugar
  • 1/3 cup Vegetable oil
  • 1 cup Warm water

Using the hook attachment on a mixer, add all the dry ingredients . Mix together and then add the wet ingredients. It should take about 2-3 minutes for the dough to come together and form a ball. Pull the ball of dough out of the mixer and place on a floured surface and knead until it forms on non sticky ball. Cut the dough into even pieces. It can make 16 larger tortillas or 20 medium size tortillas. Place on a greased sheet pan and let the dough rest for 5 minutes.

win_20161130_125534

While the dough is resting, heat up a dry pan on medium to high heat. Start rolling the dough out until it is paper thin. As you roll out the dough, it will become sticky so you will need to use plenty of flour on the surface.

 

win_20161130_131658

Place the dough into the hot pan. The dough will cook and being to bubble. It should take about 1 minute. Flip the dough over and cook the other side for another minute. Pull the tortilla from the pan and place in a container that closes. This will allow the steam from the hot tortilla to keep it moist.

win_20161130_132724

These tortillas are great for tacos and enchiladas (what I made with these). Next attempt will be dessert and I’m sure they will be amazing. Enjoy!

win_20161130_135434

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

